Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (17) - TV Shows (1) - Books (11)

Cinema in Turkey: A New Critical History review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 10 March 2012 01:31 (A review of Cinema in Turkey: A New Critical History)

The best of all the recent volumes which have appeared on Turkish cinema and its antecedents. Arslan is good both on the origins of cinema in Yesilcam - or Green Pine; a movement in Turkish cinema which was much like the old Hollywood Poverty Row studios in the 1930s and 1940s. Arslan also understands how the past influences the present, both in thematic and structural terms: Turkish cinema is un-like Hollywood cinema for a series of specific reasons. He adopts a refreshingly pluralistic approach to his material, acknowledging the significance of both western and nonwestern theoretical models. Highly recommended.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Cinema in Turkey: A New Critical History review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 10 March 2012 01:31 (A review of Cinema in Turkey: A New Critical History)

"Refreshing, thought-provoking and informative."--Charlotte McPherson, Today's Zaman


"I believe that Cinema in Turkey is a groundbreaking work, the first of its kind in English that looks in detail at the conditions of production and exhibition that shaped Yesilcam's product over nearly five decades. It deserves to become a seminal text in Turkish film history."--Laurence Raw, Insight Turkey


"Full of fresh ideas, Arslan's book productively reconciles popular and art house cinema within this study of Turkey's national film tradition. It brings insights into matters of genre, alternative cultural geographies, cross-cultural adaptation, and transnational film historiography. And it successfully tackles the relationship between Western narratives and their appropriation within modernising peripheries." --Dina Iordanova, University of St. Andrews


"Ranging from international art films to the Turkish mainstream, from trash to high-art films, from feminist and auteur theory to Orientalism, from pornography to melodrama, from the Silent Era to New Media, this book is rich in its reference, deep in its understanding, and clear in its analysis." --Ronald Green, Ohio State University


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Anadolu Kartalları review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 7 March 2012 09:46 (A review of Anadolu Kartalları)

War aircraft, the basic technology in the cinema we have to take the West. Therefore, the Air Force's 100th in honor of the anniversary, before retiring to such a propaganda film ... well düşünülmeliydi I wish the documentary kılınsaymış decision. 'Gin-minded' is a documentary director, Air Force fighter jet pilot training to be a challenging and comprehensive follow-up period by the lieutenants of this process, take determined an outstanding film. However, Hollywood, even successful formulas kullanamamış film.

In summary the following: extensive facilities provided in the sky shots, vulgar television series where the level of anecdotes that fail to merge.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Kurtlar Vadisi: Filistin review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 7 March 2012 09:43 (A review of Kurtlar Vadisi: Filistin)

There is no tradition of a superhero, but Yeşilçam Turkish cinema since the hero is a lot of aratmayan Cloaks have been wearing tights on the frost. Most seasons we watch the current TV series and movie theaters before the fly close to them because of the Iraq adventure, whichever is not wrong to claim that the Polat Alemdar.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Güzel Günler Görecegiz review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 6 March 2012 01:39 (A review of Güzel Günler Görecegiz)

48. The biggest surprise of the Golden Orange will see beautiful days of the four award-winning film, we see with our own eyes standing out of the polemical sisinden weeks finally came! Advance declaration, the festival is the premiere film critic next to me as soon as I said to my friends, I think it is very "became" a film that ...


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Bu Son Olsun review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 6 March 2012 01:36 (A review of Bu Son Olsun)

2011, was a year of the first films. 34 percent of domestic production's first film that opened last year, 71, was the first directorial effort. Hello again, such a film in 2012 called the first week of vision. Young directors to Orçun Benli little buran the darkness of the Sept. 12, is trying to shed light on a story makes you smile a lot.

Make It Last, the issue of political parties rather than through the street a group of apolitical people are infected with a way through them trying to tell. Living on the streets, picking up trash that tries to bring his money hayırsızlar crew of 3 cents of wine, and stomachs of affairs to that pinko, right-wing, ülkücüsü, standing close to each man of ideology. They went for the country way / not very important gap ... Come see all the same jail as a result of the vicissitudes of fate, and meet in the coup. From this moment the perspective of this group we see in the film performs a task and a balance, but also watch the film progresses, the balance has shifted to one side, however, already the director seeks to do this thing ...

September 12, is clearly a matter of Benli Orçun ... Who does not? Concern when the movie box office pursued (this is what is true anyway), but it is also clear that on the one hand he wants to do their own cinema ... Created for the film was meant, head to make a film, the audience may be the most accurate to take the hall consists of players. Written on paper is pretty interesting, but we watch the film's drama and comedy side, I might also get along with each other much.

A harsh reality on the one hand, while on the other side in an exaggerated comedy, were bitten by the movie becomes a little confused. Turkish cinema audiences love comedies, but many do not like satire, if not the individual. Get This Last and political, both sides, as well as trying to be funny. The audience will react to this shortcut is already difficult, but some of the characters in the film at the extreme karikatürleştirilmesi and sempatikleştirilmesi, I foresee will be installed, especially left-wing audience.

The scenario is written by and Sukru Üçpınar'ın Orçun Benli, a surprise finalist entry and development division kurgulamış to move. After a nice introduction to the fall of heroes sıkıcılaşan prison film, a romantic finale promises catharsis and he manages to audiences, but the sequences immediately after saying that I wish I were through here, sitting in our throats in a fist ...

Get this latest, more careful, especially when approaching the best films that may be part of the scenario points to a name. The film's box office now stands as a question mark. It quite difficult to predict because of his sharp maneuvers between the species ... This is a young filmmaker eager to, I hope it does not undergo the first attempt, and this last will not be disappointed.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Zenne Dancer review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 6 March 2012 01:35 (A review of Zenne Dancer)

Discussed but important truth or falsehood in the cinema lobby. In my opinion, is always a good fuck movie sell itself. At least, I want to believe it. However, lobbying firm, not a good film can also be successful. Zenne work very well in this respect the film makers. Who expressed a negative opinion about the movie homophobic Twitter accusing a team immediately (spontaneously or not) even formed. Intellectuals can not deny the existence of mafia, into the ranks of this film is shot through the right names. In addition, subject to an important event such as the acquisition of Ahmet Yildiz's murder and claim to be a brave film about homosexuality in Zenne'yi automatically (or in advance by some as well) is a work of cinema.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Berlin Kaplani review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 6 March 2012 01:34 (A review of Berlin Kaplani)

This season, in the absence of Cem Yilmaz, Alper Kul transformed into a box-office star. The audience is obviously the following months, he expects the halls have become comedy koşturacak. Film after two Eyyvah Alas, the Ata Demirer at your own risk, trying to create a whole new series of character and with the Berlin Tiger. Is largely successful.

Living in Germany, tells the story of a failed movie heavyweight boxer. Ayhan Kaplan, the debt goes down a full time, learns that his uncle's partner in Antalya holiday village. Disappear for a while, came to the job, returning to his country.

Holder can take some time to form Kaplanı'nın Berlin. Later opening. However, unlike a series of Eyyvah Alas, no annoying side characters. Demirer all the burden on the back of the film. Do not get me wrong, the conscience of Demirer accent creates a character so I think every sense a very believable and entertaining. I would like to watch movies continue to be written in this character. But Ata Demirer, Recep Ivedik-style show, rather than a single man, Cem Yilmaz's more intelligent than the tried and comedies, such as trying to create text-based. At least as good as the hero of that time written, the characters have to the original side. Was not that the biggest advantage Eyyvah Eyvah'ın?


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Sen Kimsin? review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 6 March 2012 01:30 (A review of Sen Kimsin?)

Tried to dabble in a movie is a classic joke, but I can not say that they are successful. A few jokes were very good on stage. Apart from that film did not affect me


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Kurtuluş Son Durak review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 6 March 2012 01:20 (A review of Kurtuluş Son Durak)

Violence against women, honor killings and cases recently in the media is often a case with the agenda. At best, husband, lover beating his meal 'kurtulunuyor'; court ban on approaching the house after çıkarttırdıktan considered lucky survivors. Physical or psychological violence against women in terms of both sides not allocating the level of education, we also know that this coin is one of the most disturbing facets.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block